Lord Sugar will see you now

7 Oct

Praise be to the gods of televisual gold: The Apprentice is BACK, and with rather a bang.

Last night’s opening episode introduced us to the latest intake of dimwits, tryhards and wankers this side of Big Brother (RIP).

Stuart Baggs is set to fill this year’s outrageously-awful-but-great-entertainment quota (see Ben Clarke, Lee McQueen and Katie Hopkins) and even comes complete with his own “money back guarantee”. I wouldn’t bother if I were SirAlan…oops, I mean Lord Sugar.

It was an inevitable exit for losing leader Dan Harris. Dan, did your mother never tell you that shouting, swearing and crossing your arms butters no parsnips? The girls’ leader Joanna was lucky though – they survived by just £15, when it should have been a lot more. Watch out for Melissa (Gok Wan gone wrong) – she’s sure to kick up many a fuss.

Speaking of the ladies, I think they made a distinctly underwhelming impression this week, but I won’t hold it against them. They simply couldn’t compete with the ridiculously testosterone-fuelled boys and their limp and pallid sausages.

There’s not much more I can say about the candidates (apart from the awful polo neck sported by Laura – is she not aware they haven’t been ‘in’ since the nineties?) so I’ll move on to the revamped boardroom trio.

Yes, Karren Brady was on the Junior Apprentice – and what a fine bit of telly that was too – but last night marked her debut on the grown up version. Didn’t she do well? Not as arch as Saint Margaret (who can forget this?) but she has promise. Nick ‘Silver Fox’ Hewer was on fine form, as always, while the big bad teddy bear was pun-forgettable (see what I did there?).

I’ll leave you with a clip of my favourite Apprentice moment ever. Will it be bettered this year? We’ll have to wait and see. Meanwhile, Lord Sugar’s search continues…..

3 Responses to “Lord Sugar will see you now”

  1. Tim October 12, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    I’m sure we’ll see more of the ladies in coming episodes, as last week’s opener understandably focussed on the losing boys’ team, but already Melissa looks like the sort of person you’d gladly want on someone else’s team, banging on about how brilliant she was, then dodging the PM role and finally arguing at every possible opportunity about ‘professionalism’ (like arguing with your PM two feet away from a prospective customer is professional …)

    http://slouchingtowardsthatcham.com/2010/10/07/same-old-formula-but-the-apprentice-remains-the-master-of-reality-shows/

    • tellyandtea October 12, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

      Thanks for reading!

      I’m a bit of a newbie to the blogging world, still getting the hang of it, so I appreciate someone other than my friends reading.

      I agree that we should expect to see more from the girls tomorrow – I’m looking forward to getting to know them a bit better, although I’m sure I will regret saying that….

      (Thanks for your blog link by the way)

      • Tim October 13, 2010 at 6:30 am #

        No worries. Keep up the good work, and readers will come and some will comment (well, maybe!)

        It seems like we all miss Margaret, don’t we? Karren has great business insight, but needs time to establish some trademark phrases/expressions. I think she’ll be fine.

        I look forward to reading any future updates!

Leave a Reply

