From DILF to FILF

11 Oct

That’s Doctor and Father in the title by the way. You know, in case you didn’t get it.

I have been a fan of Mr Tennant for many years, so it’s not groundbreaking news that I was mightily impressed by the Scot’s fine acting in last night’s debut episode of Single Father.

I do have my niggles with the programme though.

None of the characters were particularly likeable. I understand that this is probably the point: it’s more realistic to show fallible people (like a widow who snogs his dead wife’s bessie mate just 10 weeks after she died and the BFF who indulges in such snogging). But I like to have someone to care about and empathise with and it just didn’t happen. This may change however, and I might find it more affecting next week. That, or my stone cold heart will shrivel up further.

I was looking forward to a Casanova reunion, like the fangirl I am, but was disappointed with Rita. Anyone who wears an ‘I Heart Earth’  T-shirt to bed deserves whatever is coming to them as far as I’m concerned. She was also an arse. I like my bitches, but she wasn’t even fun with it, just a moany old cow. I suppose this goes back to the ‘real people’ argument but I didn’t feel the sympathy that the programme wanted to coax out of me.

Having said all that, I didn’t not enjoy it. I probably had expectations that were too high, especially for a first episode.

Hopefully next week will be an improvement, or I will ‘get’ the programme a bit more. Maybe I shouldn’t analyse it so much and just watch it.

What were your thoughts? Let me know.

One Response to “From DILF to FILF”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Single Father – Episode Two « Telly And Tea - October 21, 2010

    […] I said last week too, none of the characters elicit much sympathy, save little Evie. I suppose that makes it more […]

Leave a Reply

