Single Father – Episode Two

21 Oct

I know I’m late with this one but with Sunday scheduling the way it is at the moment (X Factor, Downton, Despos) I had to leave it for catch up. And I haven’t been able to catch up until tonight. So sorry for being a few days behind, I do hope you can forgive me.

Anyway, I’m still not sure about this show. I want to like it and I’m about halfway there. The acting is solid and the direction is good. But the rest of it….I just don’t get.

I *think* I like the way the plot is shifting and moving – away from the expected clichés to the discovery that Rita was rather a monster (she didn’t speak to her mother when she was pregnant, didn’t tell her what she got in her degree and was apparently living a lie for years regarding her children and their father). But it’s all so confusing. I can’t work out who ‘belongs’ to who, in what capacity and why so many people are milling around the house!

Like I said last week too, none of the characters elicit much sympathy, save little Evie. I suppose that makes it more realistic, but I find it difficult to believe that so many hateful people know each other. Still, it’s a credit to David Tennant’s acting that I don’t even particularly like his character, considering I am such a fan of him and his work.

I found the flashbacks quite annoying, especially the Peep Show-esque shots from Dave and Sarah’s pov. It cheapened the whole thing and made subtle moments more smash-you-in-the-skull obvious – a shame.

To be honest, I wasn’t that sure I would carry on with the series until the last few minutes and the preview of next week. I’m halfway through the series now so I might as well continue watching, but it’s just not as exciting as I had been lead to believe. Not everything can live up to the hype.

Leave a Reply

