The X Factor – Week Four

1 Nov

I take back (nearly) everything I previously said about Cher Lloyd. Her version of Stay on Saturday night left me ‘tweetless’ for the first time in a while. It wasn’t perfect, and it wasn’t as good as the original. But it was very impressive and showcased the talent she has that has been lacking in previous weeks.

At this point I am pretty convinced Rebecca could win it this year. Her rendition of Wicked Game was another stormer and it seems she can do no wrong. True, she has a severe case of the Leonas (stunning voice, no personality whatsoever), but she is outshining most of the other contestants on a regular basis.

Aiden did his usual psychotic thing, Matt sang a woman’s song and Paije underwhelmed. Dannii might not have it as sewn up as she had originally thought. She’s still looking good though and I actually agree with her most out of the judges this year. Either she’s softened as a result of becoming a momma, or I have (not because of childbirth in my case though, I’ll blame my age instead). Looking fierce, girl.

Simon is left with just one act in the show after Belle Amie (rightly) got the boot on Sunday. He’s surely safe for a while with One Direction though. Whose idea was it to make them up as Edward Cullen this week? Boyband + Twilight = £££££££££ from the teeny bopper market. Bravo Cowell, you evil genius.

Thank goodness we’ve had our first DEADLOCK, although I reckon Louis only went there to add a bit of drama to proceedings. Katie should be scared though, our patience wore thin with Christina Aguilera when she did the cutesy-pie vintage schtick, and at least she had the voice to back it up.

Mary was alright, a good opener, but I wasn’t overawed. I tire of watching Wagner’s mid-life crisis – at least Jedward were funny and not desperate. He’s got to be on the chopping block sooner rather than later. Treyc dodged a bullet this week: her song choice was weak, performance was lacklustre, and she’s becoming forgettable. Plus we already have Alexandra Burke. We neither need NOR want another one.

Jamiroquai was an odd choice for the Sunday night show – and clearly displayed his distaste for the show. A bit of a waste of a booking, it seemed to me. Bon Jovi was also clearly wishing they weren’t contractually obliged to appear on a talent show; I don’t blame them, I wouldn’t want to share a stage with most of the contestants and I’m not even one of the world’s biggest bands.

Rihanna, on the other hand, blew me away with her Gagaesque performance. The song is top (I even downloaded it after) but it was the theatrical edge that showed the wannabes what a real pop star looks like.

Please do leave a comment if you agree with my ramblings – or if you think I’m a witch who needs to accept how great Katie is (this seems unlikely).

2 Responses to “The X Factor – Week Four”

  1. Stacey November 3, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I hate Katie. How many times is she going to claw her way back in?

    • Telly Helly November 3, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

      I have a feeling her survival depends very much on what Cheryl gives her to sing this week…

Leave a Reply

