Mad Men – S4 Episode 9

7 Nov

I wasn’t sure about this episode while watching it, but on reflection, I LOVED it. Tying up the different generations and accepted types of women, this episode showed that it’s not just the Men of the title that make this show so brilliant.

Before I really get into this, can we please have a moment’s silence to mourn the passing of Mrs Blankenship? No? Too busy snorting with laughter at the slapstick effort to get rid of her body so the clients don’t see? Just me?

At least she had one last killer line for Peggy:

“It’s a business of sadists and masochists and you know which one you are.”

Hit the nail on the head there, didn’t she?

The Pegster realised that, despite her protestations to drippy Abe, the plight of women and black people isn’t quite as parallel as the series first portrayed. However, we still feel her pain (and as I mentioned last week, sexism is still very much a problem in 2010, whether we like to admit it or not).

Joan’s exasperation with her office life and empty home is also apparent as she rekindles her affair with Roger for one charged moment. She neatly explains that she’s not sorry, but she IS married. The rules have changed.

It was a rollercoaster of an episode for Faye. She starts it in bed with Don after an energetic sesh (well they did break a lamp) and ends it angry at him for making her a substitute mother for Sally. I don’t really know where I stand on Faye, I liked her last week but felt her to be a bit…meh this week.

Someone I am clear on my feelings for though is Sally. I LOVE SALLY DRAPER. She is (understandably) mixed up and volatile – and is hitting puberty with a big old bang. Her trip and Megan subsequently helping her up was heartbreaking. That being said, it would be nice to see Betty presented in a good light occasionally. It’s difficult, because she is essentially selfish and immature, but as all the other characters are so well fleshed-out, surely she deserves some of that too?

Anyway, I’ll leave it there as I’m actually writing this four days after I watched it and some of the juice has left my brain. Don’t forget to come back for more tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

