Downton Abbey – Episode 7

8 Nov

Now, it is news to no one that I love Downton Abbey. But even I am shocked at how sad I feel at its passing. The only thing getting me through is the knowledge that it will be back, much like Arnie, but with more bustles and tally ho.

The last episode of this series was a fitting end, although I can’t say it resolved all that much – if it had not been commissioned for a second series I would be feeling somewhat shortchanged.

The highlight of the episode had to be the walloping William gave the entirely foul Thomas. Bravo to Rob James Collier for dissolving the memory of Liam from Corrie. I would like to think we might see just a little more of him in the next series – after all, now the war is actually happening, he might reconsider his desire to be involved.

O Brien provided the turning point of the episode. Just as the audience felt something approaching empathy towards her, her scheme was fulfilled and Lady Cora lost her baby boy.  We surely won’t see much of her next time; it would be a task for Fellowes to evoke any interest in the character after that!

It wasn’t all tragic though. In fact, I thought it was the funniest episode of the series and not just thanks to the arrival of the new fangled telephone. Of course Dame Maggie was the shining star – nothing surprising about that. I hope we can expect more fireworks between Violet and Mrs Crawley.

I felt the Anna/Bates story was left a little too open. I wasn’t even sure if she still felt the same for him. Sam Wollaston raises a good point about Bates being a bit sanctimonious – perhaps he doesn’t even deserve Anna.

I’m pleased that Mary did not get her happy ever after, although I feel more sorry for Edith than she perhaps deserves. I hope the plot between Sybil and the chauffeur progresses – their joy at Gwen’s news looked like more than a friendly celebration.

We must bear in mind though, that the arrival of WW1 means less men around – although I’m confident Fellowes will find a way around this.

It’s been a thoroughly enjoyable series and the perfect companion to chilly autumn Sunday nights. I can’t wait for more.

Fans of period drama (including Downton) should check out this amazing new blog I have found: http://enchantedserenityperiodfilms.blogspot.com/

 

2 Responses to “Downton Abbey – Episode 7”

  1. Charlotte Barnes November 10, 2010 at 1:40 am #

    I already miss Downtown! I agree, the introduction of the telephone was a real highlight of the episode for me. Any idea when the second series will air?

    • Telly Helly November 10, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

      From what I’ve heard they plan to start filming next spring, so maybe next autumn?

Leave a Reply

